Canadian Cyclist


April 10/05 9:28 am - Jet Fuel in Florida, Ciociaro Criterium Series

Posted by Editoress on 04/10/05

Miller 3rd at Jacksonville Twilight Criterium
Courtesy Jet Fuel

Jet Fuel Coffee rider Buck Miller continued his racing campaign with a fine 3rd place at the Jacksonville Twilight Criterium in Florida this evening (Saturday, April 9th). In front of a huge crowd Miller attacked halfway through the 90 minute event and helped form the five man winning break. Miller made sure his trip to lovely Jacksonville was worth the drive by winning some primes during the race.

With over $6,000 up for grabs in the nighttime criterium the race attracted various American UCI Continental teams. The Jet Fuel Coffee three man squad ended the evening with Miller in third, Zach Bell in 10th and Mark Pozniak in 13th. The race was filmed for viewing on the North Florida Comcast network.

On Sunday the riders tackle the second part of the Jacksonville Cycling Classic. The Wachovia Classic Road Race is a 100 mile long event on a 12 mile circuit.

Ciociaro Criterium Series - Ontario
Courtesy Ian Phillips

The 1st race in the 2005 Ciociaro Criterium Series was held on Thursday, April 7th, 2005 in Windsor, Ontario. After 3 days of near record temperature, the Southern Ontario weather threw a curve ball and sent the temperature back down into single digits, but the riders had a great season opener. Over 45+ racers showed up for an evening of criterium racing action.

Wayne Tomkins (Maple Leaf) the eventual 'A' winner crossing the start/finish line.

Ciociaro 'A' Results

1. Wayne Tomkins (Maple Leaf) CAN
2. Rob Vanni (Koolini) CAN
3. Nick Dwyer (Koolini) CAN
4. Paul Eugenie (Koolini) CAN
5. Mo Ruelland (Maple Leaf) CAN

Ciociaro 'B' Results
1. Tom Omstead (Maple Leaf) CAN
2. John Polish (Maple Leaf) CAN
3. Alan Russell (Maple Leaf) CAN
4. David Starling (WSC) USA
5. Doug Michie (Maple Leaf) CAN


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.