Canadian Cyclist


April 18/05 12:22 pm - Steve Bauer Inducted into Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame

Posted by Editoress on 04/18/05

Courtesy Canadian Sport News

Three outstanding athletes and one exceptional team will be inducted into the Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame this evening in Regina , Sask. by the Canadian Olympic Committee (COC). Hosted by Saskatchewan-born Catriona Le May Doan, this evening's inductees include the 'World's Fastest Man' at the 1996 Olympic Games, Donovan Bailey, the gold medal Schmirler Curling Team, cycling silver medallist Steve Bauer and diving double medallist Anne Montminy.

The Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame recognizes those who have served the cause of the Olympic Movement with distinction. Each of the recipients will be honoured at an induction ceremony beginning at 6 p.m. this evening at the Casino Regina Show Lounge.

"We are honoured to induct such outstanding and deserving candidates into the Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame," said COC President Michael Chambers. "Tonight's inductees have dedicated their lives to the advancement of sport and the Olympic Movement and we are proud to recognize their achievements and contribution to sport in Canada ."

This evening's inductees include:

Athlete Category

Donovan Bailey, Oakville , Ont., double gold medallist, Athletics (100m and 4X100m relay), at the 1996 Olympic Games in Atlanta

Steve Bauer, Beamsville, Ont., silver medallist, Cycling (road race) at the 1984 Olympic Games in Los Angeles

Anne Montminy, Montreal, Que., currently residing in San Francisco, Calif., Diving silver and bronze medallist, (10m platform and 10m synchronized), at the 2000 Olympic Games in Sydney

Team Category

Sandra Schmirler Curling Team, Regina , Sask. , gold medallists in Nagano, 1998. Team members include the late Sandra Schmirler (1963 ˆ 2000), Jan Betker, Joan McCusker, Marcia Gudereit and Atina Ford.

Coach Category

Currie Chapman , Ottawa , Ont., member of the Canadian Alpine Ski Team, 1964 ˆ 1969, and head coach of the Women's Ski Team, 1980 ˆ 1988.

Builder Category

Dr. Thomas Fried , Toronto , Ont., member of the medical team for many Olympic and Pan American Games.

The Canadian Olympic Order will also be awarded by the COC this evening to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the Olympic Movement in Canada . This year's inductee is Dr. Bruce Kidd , Dean of the faculty of physical education and health at the University of Toronto . He competed as part of the Athletics team in both the 5,000m and the 10,000m at the 1964 Olympic Games and has continued to contribute to sport in Canada as an advocate, administrator and academic.

During the induction ceremony, the COC will also present the 2004 IOC 'Sporting and Media' Trophy to two outstanding Canadian sport journalists, George Gross of Sun Media and Richard Garneau of SRC.

The Canadian Olympic Committee is a national, private, not-for-profit organization committed to sport excellence. It is responsible for all aspects of Canada's involvement in the Olympic movement, including Canada's participation in the Olympic and Pan American Games and a wide variety of programs that promote the Olympic Movement in Canada through cultural and educational means. For more information see the COC website :


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.