Canadian Cyclist


June 18/05 1:18 am - Tour de Beauce: Stage 4b photos, NORBA Deer Valley Stage 1

Posted by Editoress on 06/18/05

Tour de Beauce St Georges, QC

Stage 4b Photos

Deer Valley NORBA Park City, Utah

After a three month hiatus, the Shimano NORBA National Mountain Bike Series returned to competition on Friday with men's dual slalom at Deer Valley Resort and a unique uphill time trial on the 2002 Olympic bobsled track in nearby Olympic Park.

In stage one of a three-stage race for cross country athletes, U.S. National Champion Jeremy-Horgan Kobelski and the Czech Republic's Katerina Hanusova posted the fastest times after ascending 340 feet up the 1335 meter bobsled track.

Horgan-Kobelski clocked a time of 3 minutes 42.2 seconds to best recently crowned Canadian National Champion Geoff Kabush by 6.3 seconds. Michael Weiss (Aut) rounded out the top three with a time of 3:49.3.

In the women's race, Hanusova posted a 4:45.6 to beat Willow Koerber by 6.7 seconds while Hanusova's teammate, Alison Dunlap (Colorado Springs, Colo.), was third with a 4:53.4.

Earlier in the afternoon, gravity riders made their long-awaited season debut with the dual slalom competition as perennial favorite Jill Kintner (Seattle Wash.) and relative newcomer Cody Warren each took home wins.

In the men's race, the ninth seeded Warren topped the 14th seeded John Kirkaldie (NZl) in the final to give the 19-year-old the biggest win of his career and his first in a NORBA National at the pro level.

In the women's event, top seeded Kintner recovered from a first-run crash in the final to beat Melissa Buhl in an all-American final.

In the consolation rounds, Jared Graves rode to a bronze medal ahead of fellow Australian Chris Kovarik in the men's race and Michelle Dumaresque (Can) beat Katrina Miller (Aus) in the women's bronze medal match-up.

Cross Country: Stage 1

Olympic Bobsled Time Trial

1. Katerina Hanusova (Cze), Luna, 4:45.6
2. Willow Koerber (USA) Subaru-Gary Fisher at 0:07
3. Alison Dunlap (USA) Luna, 0:08
4. Shonny Vanlandingham (USA) Luna, 0:10
5. Dara Marks-Marino (USA) Ford-Specialized, 0:13
6. Susan Haywood (USA) Trek-VW, 0:18
7. Georgia Gould (USA) Tamarack, 0:20
8. Sandra Bloomer (USA) Blacksheep, 0:25
9. Heather Irminger (USA) Tokyo Joes-Go Lite, 0:30
10. Kelli Emmett (USA) Ford/Specialized, 0:31

1. Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (USA) Subaru-Gary Fisher, 3:42.2
2. Geoff Kabush (Can), Maxxis at 0:06
3. Micheal Weiss (Aut) SRM, 0:07
4. Matt Shriver (USA) 3D Racing, 0:11
5. Seamus McGrath (Can), Haro, s.t.
6. Ryan Trebon (USA) Kona Les Gets, 0:13
7. Roland Green (Can), Kona-Les Gets, 0:15
8. Chris Sheppard (Can), Haro, s.t.

9. Cody Peterson, (USA) 3D Racing, 0:20
10. Adam Craig (USA) Giant, 0:25

Dual Slalom

1. Jill Kintner (USA)
2. Melissa Buhl (USA)
3. Michelle Dumaresque (Can)
4. Katrina Miller (Aus)

1. Cody Warren (USA)
2. John Kirkaldie (NZl)
3. Jared Graves (Asu)
4. Chris Kovarik (Aus)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.