Canadian Cyclist


August 6/05 6:54 am - Crankworx: Nissan Biker X

Posted by Editoress on 08/6/05

Crankworx Day 3 Whistler BC, August 5th
Courtesy Michelle Leroux, Senior Public Relations Officer, Whistler Blackcomb

Brian Lopes Emerges Triumphant In Nissan Biker X Battle

The Nissan Biker X went down today with Brian Lopes of the United States emerging triumphant in the Pro Men's category after getting the holeshot and holding his lead through a grueling dirt course riddled with drops, table tops and berms.

When the dust finally settled, Cedric Gracia of France stood in second, Bas De Bever of the Netherlands in third and Kyle Strait of the USA in fourth.

Jill Kintner of the USA defended her title in the Pro Women's Division and took first over Anneke Beerten of the Netherlands in second, Fionn Griffiths of Great Britain in third and Whistler's own Jenn Ashton in fourth.

"Victory is sweet every single time," says Kintner. "The course is super fast and the atmosphere here is way better than at other races. There is less pressure and it seems like it is more about having fun."

Final results for all divisions are below.

Up Next
The Pro Invitational Slopestyle presented by Full Throttle will go off Saturday at 5pm and training will take place in the Park's Boneyard all day. This afternoon Jamie Goldman, Niels Windfeldt, Trond Hanson, Carlo Dieckmann and Joscha Forstreuter qualified for the Invitational, joining crowd favourites Richie Schley, Cedric Gracia, Darren Berrecloth and the legendary John Cowan. The Slopestyle is quickly becoming Crankworx's signature event and if Paul Basagoitia's prize-winning performance last year of a backflip to a 20-foot high scaffold followed with a tail whip out is any indication, spectators and judges should prepare to witness astounding feats of athleticism.

Sunday will wrap Crankworx with the Garbanzo Enduro Downhill and the KONA Jump Jam.

Nissan Biker Cross

Pro Men
1. Brian Lopes (USA) GT/Oakley
2. Cedric Gracia (Fra) Cannondale/Oakley/Siemens
3. Bas De Bever (Ned) B1
4. Kyle Strait (USA) Specialized, Oakley, Red Bull
5. Michael Hannah (Aus) Team Haro
6. Steve Peat (GBr) Orange
7. Tyson Mccrea (Can)
8. Bryn Atkinson (Aus) GT

Pro Women
1. Jill Kintner (USA) Yeti
2. Anneke Beerten (Ned) Specialized
3. Fionn Griffiths (GBr) Norco
4. Jennifer Ashton (Can) Rocky Mountain, Fanatyk

4 Wheelers
1. Stacy Kohut (Can)
2. John Therien (Can)
3. Eric Lindsley (USA)
4. Gavin Williamson (USA)

Amateur Men
1. Ryan Newman (Can)
2. Kyle Guay (Can)
3. Cameron Mccaul (USA)
4. Matt Mcconoghy (Can)
4. J Clinton Fowler (USA)
6. Dustin Kingman (USA)
7. Kevin Fife (Can)
8. Greg Doerksen (Can)

Junior Men
1. Josh Toland (USA)
2. Adam Mcconoghy (Can)
3. James Mcskimming (Can)
4. Andrew Cho (Can)
5. Tyler Mccaul (USA)
6. Devon Budd (Can)
7. Amado Stachenfeld (USA)
8. Sky Gustin (Can)

Master Men
1. Scott Matual (USA)
2. Steve Boucher (Can)
3. Matt Patterson (USA)
4. Mike Hammond (USA)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.