Canadian Cyclist


September 13/05 7:58 am - Cycling Greats Support The BC Cancer Foundation, Alberta Masters Road Champs, Blizzard Bike Club News

Posted by Editoress on 09/13/05

Cycling Greats Give To Support The BC Cancer Foundation

Merckx, Armstrong, Hincapie, Julich, McGee, O'Neill, all donate to an evening of champions

Many of the worlds top cyclists including seven time Tour de France winner Lance Armstrong have generously donated signed prizes for the upcoming charity fundraising event "an evening of champions" with Eddy and Axel Merckx in Vancouver, BC on October 28th 2005.

"We are delighted with the response from the world of cycling both in donations and support for this once in a lifetime opportunity" explains Philip Meyer, General Manager of the Wedgewood Hotel and a director of the Wedgewood Cycling Team, hosts of the event." We have already far exceeded our expectations and with these extra great gifts will ensure an evening of champions we will be able to make a significant contribution to the BC Cancer Foundation" Meyer continued.

A limited number of tickets for the reception and dinner are still available at and raffle tickets will be on sale on September 14th.

Alberta Masters' Road Race Championships September 11th, near Davisburg AB
Courtesy ABA

Single-digit temperatures and a weekend of driving rain limited numbers at this year's Alberta Provincial Road Race Championships, held 30 kilometres south of Calgary near Davisburg.

The soggy, cold, windy weather resulted in the cancellation of the nearby Bowness Nationals Mountain Bike race, and show-jumping events at Spruce Meadows; it didn't, however, stop the 36 riders who did show up to race. Rides of the day belonged to the Master A duo of Steve Soldan (Independent) and Keith Bayly (Deadgoat), who put nearly 8 minutes into a lethargic peloton, with Soldan prevailing at the finish.

Thanks to Jim Oldham and the Calgary Crankmasters ( for their efforts organizing the race.

Master A Men - 110 Kms
1. Stever Soldan (Independent - MM A)3:13:39
2. Keith Bayly (Deadgoat - MM A)3:13:41
3. Steve German (The Bike Shop - MM A)3:21:31
4. Rod Walker (CrankMasters - MM A)3:21:32
5. Jonathan Mayne (Pedalhead Road/Sleeman - MM A)3:22:53
6. Andrew Hilton (Pedalhead - MM A)3:25:05
7. James Ritchie (Deadgoat - MM A)3:25:07
8. Larry Welsh (Singletrack - MM A)3:25:11
9. Dan Hunka (Juventus - MM A)3:30:31
10. Jason Wall (Independent - MM A)3:36:50
dnf. Brad Fehr (Pedalhead - MM A)
dnf. Mike McKee (Deadgoat - MM A)
dnf. Mike Norton (Independent - MM A)
Master Men B - 92 Kms
1. Peter Toth (ERTC - MM B)2:42:17
2. Zbigniew Szymanski (United Cycle - MM B)2:42:20
3. Rob Reid (CrankMasters - MM B)2:42:25
4. Michael Johns (CABC - MM B)2:42:29
5. Tommy Mak (Eurotech - MM B)2:42:40
6. Jack Funk (Deadgoat - MM B)2:45:35
7. Kevin Walsh (CrankMasters - MM B)s.t.
8. Pat Doyle (Deadgoat - MM B)2:46:47
9. Stephen Kenny (Alta Randonneurs - MM B)2:50:43
10. Gerry McCuaig (Deadgoat - MM B)2:52:12
11. Don Mankewich (Alta Randonneurs - MM B)3:06:34
dnf. Ted Dahms (Pedalhead Road/Sleeman - MM B)
dnf. Matt Wheatley (Independent - MM B)
dnf. Stephen Mundy (ERTC - MM B)
Master C Men - 62 Kms
1. Wayne Long (United Cycle - MM C)1:57:08
2. Paul MacDonald (United Cycle - MM C)1:57:08
3. Michael Zelensky (Terrascape - MM C)1:57:14
4. Henry Yau (Deadgoat - MM C)1:57:14
5. Lev Krivitsky (Crankmasters - MM C)2:02:42
6. Mark Jones (Cycle-Logic - MM C)2:11:37
Master D Men, Master B Women, Master E Men - 48 Kms
1. Steve Sampson (CrankMasters - MM D)1:24:33
1. Carolyn Soules (CrankMasters - MW B)1:34:43
1. Peter Bigg (Edmonton Masters' CC - MM E)1:35:35

Blizzard Bike Club Fort St. John, BC
Courtesy Blizzard Bike Club

Sept. 11, 2005

Stephen Ferris of the Blizzard Bike Club won the final mountain bike race of the Challenge Cup season on a wet and slippery Beatton Park course with a time of 30:05 minutes. Lanny Buffitt of Grande Prairie was second at 32:11 and Pat Ferris was third at 34:18. Roger St. Jean was 4th at 34:31, Matt Sparling 5th at 36:04 and Kevin Cooper was 6th at 36:07.

Francis Plum (GP) won the 2-lap with 19:04 with Bob Andrews second at 19:40 and Adam Currie third at 24:00. Terry Stone and Suzy Bach did 14:01 for the 1-lap event.

Stephen Ferris has won two mountain bike challenge cup races this year, both mountain bike events and Pat Ferris won the last road race event in Grande Prairie, in August.

The local Blizzard squad won the day with 54 points to GP's 14 but could not get enough points to win the series. The Grande Prairie Wheelers win the 12 race Challenge Cup for the first time in 5 years, with 464 points to the Blizzards 400 and Dawson Creek's 20.

Coming up:
-Thursday final Beatton park mountain bike time trial at 6:30 pm.
-Sunday is the 11th running of the Dawntech Mountain Bike Championships at Beatton Park at 2 pm. 2004 winner Pat Ferris will be out to defend his title.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.