Canadian Cyclist


October 9/05 8:39 am - Bessette Wins

Posted by Editor on 10/9/05

Trebon, Bessette Win Opener of 2005 US Gran Prix
Courtesy USA Cycling

Under nearly perfect race conditions, the opening round of the 2005 Crank Brothers US Gran Prix of Cyclocross saw victory fall to two of North America's strongest cyclocross racers. Ryan Trebon (Kona-Les Gets) and Lyne Bessette (Cyclocrossworld-Louis Garneau) won the Elite Men's and Women's races, respectively, at Saturday's Cannondale Stumptown Cyclocross Classic in Portland, Ore.

Freshly healed from a broken wrist that ended his summer mountain bike race season, Trebon dashed off the front on the first lap of the Elite Men's race with teammate, and fellow Oregonian, Barry Wicks in tow. The two Kona riders never looked back, solidifying their lead by midway into the 60-minute race. As the lap cards wound down, it was Trebon, the defending US Gran Prix champion, who broke free to claim the win. Adam Craig (Giant), another Oregon resident, rounded out the top three after a slow start.

While she did it without the benefit of a teammate, Bessette's win was no less impressive in the Elite Women's event. Considering it was the Canadian's first big cyclocross race in over two years, the dominant win was that much more noteworthy.

Bessette and local hero Ann Knapp (Kona) took control of the race early, establishing a solid gap in the open three laps. But some technical problems bedeviled Knapp midway through the race, and while she chased back to within 20 second of Bessette, the former US National Champion was forced to be satisfied with runner-up position. California's Barbara Howe (Velo Bella) rounded out the podium.

The US Gran Prix of Cyclocross continues on Sunday with the Rad Racing Gran Prix of Cyclocross fro Fort Steilacoom Park in Tacoma, Wash.

Elite Men
1. Ryan Trebon (Kona Les Gets)
2. Barry Wicks (Kona Les Gets)
3. Adam Craig (Giant Bicycle)
4. Mark McCormack (Team Clif Bar)
5. Tim Johnson (Cyclocrossworld-Louis Garneau)

Elite Women
1. Lyne Bessette (Cyclocrossworld-Louis Garneau)
2. Ann Knapp (Kona)
3. Barbara Howe (Velo Bella)

Under-23 Men
1. Jesse Anthony (Team Clif Bar)
2. Troy Wells (TIAA-Cref)
3. Tommy McGrath

Junior Men
1. Alex Howes (TIAA-Cref)
2. Danny Summerhill (TIAA-Cref)
3. Bjorn Selander (Alan Factory)

Masters 35+
1. Dale Knapp
2. Richard Feldman
3. John Gallagher


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.