Canadian Cyclist


November 30/05 2:09 am - Canadian Sports Awards Nominations

Posted by Editor on 11/30/05

Call for Nominations For the 33rd Canadian Sport Awards
Courtesy SIRC

The True Sport Foundation today announced its call for nominations for the 33rd annual Canadian Sport Awards (CSA). The nomination period begins today and closes on January 13, 2006 and will recognize excellence in sport in 2005. The nomination package is available at

"This is an exciting time for Canadian sport and I would like to encourage all sport organizations, media and the general public to nominate their sport heroes for this year's Canadian Sport Awards," said Paul Melia, Chairperson of the True Sport Foundation.

Finalists for each CSA award will be announced in February 2006. Winners will be announced at the official gala awards ceremony later in the spring of 2006.

Established in 1972, the Canadian Sport Awards are the premier recognition event for sporting excellence. This annual event brings together more than 500 leaders from the sporting and corporate communities.

The 33rd Annual Canadian Sport Award categories are listed below, along with those honoured for each award in 2004.

The Athletic Performance Awards recognize outstanding athletic performance.

* Male Athlete of the Year (The Norton H. Crow Award)
2004 winner: Kyle Shewfelt, Men's Gymnastics
* Female Athlete of the Year (The Velma Springstead Award)
2004 winner: Chantal Petitclerc, Athletics - Wheelchair Track and Field
* Junior Male Athlete of the Year (The Viscount Alexander Award)
2004 winner: Michael Mason, Athletics - Track and Field, High Jump
* Junior Female Athlete of the Year (The Elaine Tanner Award)
2004 winner: Shannon Rempel, Speed Skating ˆ Long Track

* Male Team of the Year (The Dick Ellis Trophy)
2004 winner: Men's Wheelchair Basketball
* Female Team of the Year (Edmonton Grads Trophy)
2004 winner: Women's Goalball Team, Canadian Blind Sports
* Partners of the Year (The Wilson and McCall Trophy)
2004 winner: Men's Coxless Four Rowing Crew:
Cam Baerg, Tom Herschmiller, Jake Wetzel, Barney Williams

The Leadership Awards recognize and celebrate an individual's outstanding contribution to the betterment of sport.

* Athlete Leadership Award (The Bruce Kidd Award)
2004 winner: Patrick Jarvis, Amarok Training Centre
* Volunteer Achievement Award (The Bryce Taylor Award)
2004 winner: Eldon Godfrey, Diving Plongeon Canada
* Leadership in Sport Award
2004 winner: Dale Henwood, Calgary Sport Centre
* Coach of the Year Award
2004 winner: Peter Eriksson, Athletics Canada

The Corporate Excellence Awards recognize and celebrate corporations who provide outstanding support to Canadian sport.

* National Team Support Award
2004 winner: Pfizer Canada
* Individual Athlete Support Award
2004 winner: Royal Bank Financial Group
* National Initiative Support Award
2004 winner: Bell Canada

The Bell True Sport Community Awards recognize the importance of fair and ethical sport, inclusion, accessibility and a positive sport experience at the community level. Bell True Sport communities are honoured for their best practices, commitment and accomplishments in furthering their community based sports and recreation programs. The 2004 Bell True Sport Communities were Edmonton, AB, Sherbrooke, QC, and Tumbler Ridge, BC.

The Investors Group Spirit of Sport Story of the Year category recognizes and celebrates a Canadian hero who, in the pursuit of sporting excellence, has demonstrated values such as fairness, inclusion, perseverance, sportsmanship, respect for others, and a true love of sport. The 2004 winner was Myriam Boileau, Diving Plongeon Canada.

Nomination Eligibility
Any Canadian citizen can nominate an individual, team or corporation for the Canadian Sport Awards. Individuals and corporations can also self-nominate. Eligible entries are for performances or contributions from January 1, 2005 through to December 31, 2005.

Submissions must be received at the True Sport Foundation no later than 5:00 p.m. E.S.T., Friday, January 13, 2006. Late submissions will not be accepted. Completed ORIGINAL submissions should be sent to:

True Sport Foundation
CSA Selection Advisory Committee
2197 Riverside Drive, Suite 300
Ottawa, ON K1H 7X3

About the True Sport Foundation
The True Sport Foundation is a charitable organization committed to ensuring that sport makes a positive contribution to Canadian society, athletes and the physical and moral development of Canada's youth. Managed by the Foundation, the Canadian Sport Awards boasts a strong relationship with its modern day founding partners, which include Athletes CAN, the Commonwealth Games Association of Canada, the Canada Games and the Canadian Centre for Ethics in Sport.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.