Canadian Cyclist


January 17/06 9:15 am - Tour d'Afrique, Blizzard History (Part 3)

Posted by Editor on 01/17/06

Tour d'Afrique Update
Courtesy organizers

Stage 2 saw Joan Louwrens continue her winning ways in the women's category, and a three way tie amongst the men; Pieter van Rooyen again out front, along with Sam Bail of Canada, and George Oertel of South Africa. The Tour's youngest participant - 20 year old - Sam Bail then claimed victory in Stage 3. In the women's category, Juliet Wolfe claimed the first ever stage win for Ireland. Keep watching the website for more results.

Blizzard Bike Club - A History

Pat Ferris, one of the founders of the Blizzard Bike Club in Fort St John, B.C. is providing a history of how a successful club developed in such a northern location. Here is the third installment - 1984

Year End 1984

1984 was a year of expansion and more success at regional races for the Blizzard Bike Club well as for the whole northern region. The Dawson Creek Wind Club started in 1984, the forerunner of the present day Dawson Creek Greasy Chain Club. Regional cycling had a huge expansion in those days with increasing numbers and clubs, from 100 Mile House, north.

The A & W Northern Challenge Cup was initiated for the top senior (over 19) rider who won the most combined points for the 'Old Fort' two-day race in Prince George and the Fort St John Coca-Cola Northern Classic two-day race.

The first big regional race was the 'Old Fort' Race in Prince George . A dozen Blizzards went down for this event. There were about 60 riders, in total, with the senior race having 40. Pat Ferris won both the 80 km road race and the criterium in sprint finishes, winning the weekend with Gary Leung in 3rd, Bill Scott in 4th, Tim Ferris 12th and Patti Johnson leading the women.

That next weekend was the second half of the Challenge Cup. First up was the 80 km road race from Dawson Creek to Fort St John with a crowd of forty riders. Pat Ferris won the road race in a close sprint over Otto Kamstra of Prince George.

Bag piper Gordon Adlard entertained the waiting riders and Red Wheeler fired the black powder gun to start the downtown criterium. Otto Kamstra of Prince George won the criterium around the 'bingo hall block' but Ferris won the overall 'Northern Challenge Cup' title with three stages wins out of four on the two weekends.

Next stop was the BC Games selections in Prince George, in June. 37 riders were trying out for the regional team. Pat Ferris won the road race by outsprinting Olav Stana. Bill Scott won the 16 km time trial, edging out Ferris and Stana. Patti Johnson swept the road race and time trial.

Pat and Tim Ferris went to Prince George one more time for the CKPG Road race, from Eagle Lake to Prince George, where there was a crowd of over 40 riders in attendance. Olav Stana initiated a break on the first big hill and rode away with Pat Ferris and Charlie Fox. Eventually, Ferris won the sprint by a length over Stana to take the trophy home. Tim Ferris won the pack sprint for 4th.

Five Blizzards went to Burnaby for the BC Summer Games. Bill Scott won bronze in the Senior Novice class and Debbie Johnson got bronze in cadet girls. Those medals were awarded to the overall winners, not by individual stage as they are now.

Dawson Creek held its first 'stage' race with a downtown criterium and a road race out to the Heritage Highway. Tim Ferris edged out Pat Ferris to sweep the weekend with Derek Carroll in third spot and Ray Kim in 4th.

Mayor Brian Palmer attended the club's Awards Banquet and handed out the trophies. Bill Scott was Most Improved, Pat Ferris-Senior Men's BAR, Perry Dayton Junior BAR, Debbie Johnson the Women's BAR and Ken Chin the Half Wheel. Glynnis Mackie received the Unsung Hero award for being a tireless volunteer.

Another very successful season with more to come.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.