Canadian Cyclist


December 23/16 14:35 pm - Canadian Cyclist of the Year - Best Individual Performances

Posted by Editoress on 12/23/16

On Thursday, we announced the Canadian Cyclists of the Year for Female, Male and Para. Today, we reveal the top Individual Performances of 2016. Voters had an opportunity to rank the top-5 performances by Canadian cyclists (with 5 points for the highest rank, down to 1); and there were a lot to choose from, ranging from the Track to Mountain Bike (Cross-country and Downhill), to Road. Canada continues grow as a force in cycling across all disciplines,as can be seen in the breadth of results that made our final selection for voting.




Tristen Chernove




Stefan Ritter




Catharine Pendrel


Tristen Chernove of Cranbrook, BC, our Para athlete of 2016, took top honours in the Best Performance with his gold medal ride in the Men's Individual Time Trial at the Paralympic Games. He was followed by our two other Canadian Cyclists of the Year - Stefan Ritter of Edmonton for his world championship 1000m Time Trial win at the Junior Track Worlds, and Catharine Pendrel of Kamloops, BC, for her come-from-behind bronze medal in the women's cross-country at the Olympic Games.

The final rankings were determined by a weighted average of votes cast, however, those closely mirrored the first place votes each athlete received. Here are the first place votes each cyclist received:

Rider Performance % First Place
Tristen Chernove Gold Medal Men's ITT Paralympics 17
Stefan Ritter Gold Medal Jr Track Worlds 1000m TT 15
Catharine Pendrel Bronze Medal XC Olympics 11.9
Mike Woods 2nd Milano-Torino 10.6
Emily Batty Bronze Medal XC Worlds 8.7
Ryan Roth 15th Road Worlds Men's RR 8.3
Men's Team Pursuit Gold Medal Track World Cup #2 7.9
Women's Team Pursuit Bronze Medal Olympics 6.4
Finn Iles Gold Medal DH Worlds Junior Men 5.9
Antoine Duchesne KoM Jersey Paris-Nice 4.8
Jasmin Glaesser Silver Medal Track Worlds Points Race 3.4


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.